Types of gambling in Luxembourg

Gaming Regulators

Ministry of Justice (Ministry of Justice) issues permits for private operators, who offer sports betting services, casinos and lotteries. If the total amount of lottery tickets issued is less than or equal to 12 500 EUR, the permit is issued by the council of elders (College of Mayor and Aldermen) or municipality, where is the lottery.

The National Lottery is monopolistically regulated by the Grand Duchess Charlotte National Endowment. This is a non-profit organization, which reports to the Prime Minister and the Minister of State. The proceeds from the state lottery go to charity.

Sole casino license holder - Casino 2000. If there is another candidate for running a gambling business in Luxembourg, then by law the Council of State will investigate and issue a permit, if the operator meets all the requirements.

Licensed varieties of gambling

The following types of games are allowed in Luxembourg:

  • poker (four types - at low rates, herd, Texas hold'em, omaha poker);
  • sports betting - all types and forms;
  • casino games;
  • slot machines - only allowed in casinos;
  • lotteries and bingo.

All types of poker can only be offered in casinos. Luxembourg government signed an agreement with poker organizers. They are allowed to hold any event at any venue (eg, in the bar), if the rates do not rise higher 50 EUR.

Casino games include:

  • roulette;
  • american roulette;
  • english roulette;
  • thirty forty;
  • blackjack;
  • craps;
  • punto bank;
  • poker stud;
  • baccarat of three types (baccarat railways, two-tier baccarat with limited bank and the spread, open bank two-tier baccarat.

Other games are allowed by the State Council after proper investigation.

Online gambling in Luxembourg

As for online gambling business, then the existing laws do not distinguish between land and online games. Thus, they obey the same rules, which also apply to land operators.

On practice, the only legal online brand in Luxembourg is the National Lottery. The lottery law directly states, that the National Trust has the right to offer any form of lotteries and sports betting, including online. I.e, in fact, online business is a state monopoly.

This situation is contrary to the provisions of the European Union, but the Luxembourg government does little, to fix the situation. Still unknown, is there any new gambling bill, especially online. However, there were no complaints about Luxembourg laws., and the European Commission has no reason to start an investigation.

Gambling legislation

Luxembourg's Basic Gambling Law - Gambling Law, acting since 20 April 1977 of the year. Its first article explicitly prohibits all gambling., because they are capable of causing irrational and destructive behavior.

Nevertheless, there is a list of laws and regulations, which regulate certain areas of the gambling business:

  • National Lottery Law from 22 May 2009 of the year sets the rules for the National Lottery. Only she has the right to conduct any type of lotteries and sports bets, including online versions;
  • ruling of the grand duke (Grand-Ducal Regulation) from 7 september 1987 year regulates sports betting;
  • decree of the grand duke from 12 february 1979 of the year, with regular amendments, legalizes casinos and establishes a list of licensed games;
  • law from 20 july 2002 year provides a list of rules for advertising and running lotteries of any type.

There are only two main operators in Luxembourg. The first is the Grand Duchess Charlotte National Trust (National Relief Work Grand Duchess Charlotte). Second - Casino 2000, located in the spa resort of Mondorf-les-Bains (Mondorf-les-Bains).

Luxembourg Casino in 2002 started an active program to protect against gambling addiction. All employees are regularly trained. They update the training every year, how to recognize problem players. Now the Casino program 2000 considered the best in the European Union.

Rate article

Разновидности азартных игр Люксембурга

Игорные регуляторы

Министерство юстиции (Ministry of Justice) выпускает разрешения для частных операторов, которые предлагают услуги по спортивным ставкам, казино и лотереям. Если общая сумма выпущенных лотерейных билетов меньше или равна 12 500 EUR, то разрешение выдается советом старейшин (Collège des Bourgmestre et Echevins) или муниципалитетом, где проводится лотерея.

Национальная лотерея регулируется монопольно – Национальным фондом великой герцогини Шарлотты. Это некоммерческая организация, которая подчиняется премьер-министру и государственному министру. Выручка от государственной лотереи идет на благотворительность.

Единственный держатель лицензии на казино – Casino 2000. Если возникнет еще один кандидат на ведение игорного бизнеса в Люксембурге, то по закону Государственный Совет проведет расследование и выдаст разрешение, если оператор будет соответствовать всем требованиям.

Лицензируемые разновидности азартных игр

В Люксембурге разрешены следующие типы игр:

  • покер (четыре вида – по небольшим ставкам, стад, техасский холдем, омаха покер);
  • спортивные ставки – любые типы и формы;
  • игры казино;
  • игровые автоматы – разрешены только в казино;
  • лотереи и бинго.

Все виды покера могут предлагаться только в казино. Люксембургское правительство заключило договор с организаторами покера. Им разрешено проводить любые события на любых площадках (например, в баре), если ставки не поднимаются выше 50 EUR.

В игры казино входят:

  • рулетка;
  • американская рулетка;
  • английская рулетка;
  • тридцать-сорок;
  • блекджек;
  • крэпс;
  • пунто-банко;
  • покер стад;
  • баккара трех видов (baccarat chemins de fer, baccarat à deux tableaux à banque limitée et l’écarté, baccarat à deux tableaux à banque ouverte.

Другие игры разрешаются Государственным Советом после надлежащего расследования.

Онлайн гемблинг в Люксембурге

Что касается онлайн игорного бизнеса, то имеющиеся законы не различают наземные и онлайн игры. Таким образом, они подчиняются тем же правилам, которые применяются и для наземных операторов.

На практике, единственный легальный онлайн бренд в Люксембурге – это Национальная Лотерея. В лотерейном законе прямо прописывается, что Национальный Фонд имеет право предлагать любые формы лотерей и спортивных ставок, в том числе онлайн. То есть, по факту, онлайн бизнес – государственная монополия.

Эта ситуация противоречит положениям Европейского союза, но правительство Люксембурга мало что делает, чтобы исправить положение.  До сих пор неизвестно, существует ли какой-то новый законопроект относительно азартных игр, особенно онлайн. Однако никаких жалоб на люксембургские законы не поступало, и Европейская Комиссия не имеет повода начинать расследование.

Игорное законодательство

Основной закон по игорному бизнесу Люксембурга – Gambling Law, действующий с 20 апреля 1977 года. Его первая статья прямо запрещает все азартные игры, потому что они способны вызвать иррациональное и разрушительное поведение.

Тем не менее, существует список законов и постановлений, которые регулируют отдельные направления игорного бизнеса:

  • закон National Lottery Law от 22 мая 2009 года устанавливает правила для Национальной Лотереи. Только у нее есть право вести любые типы лотерей и спортивных ставок, включая онлайн версии;
  • постановление великого герцога (Grand-Ducal Regulation) от 7 сентября 1987 года регулирует спортивные ставки;
  • постановление великого герцога от 12 февраля 1979 года с регулярными поправками легализует казино и устанавливает список лицензированных игр;
  • закон от 20 июля 2002 года предоставляет список правил для рекламы и проведения лотерей любого типа.

В Люксембурге работают только два основных оператора. Первый – Национальный Фонд Великой Герцогини Шарлотты (Oeuvre Nationale de Secours Grande-duchesse Charlotte). Второй – Casino 2000, расположенное на спа-курорте Мондорф-ле-Бен (Mondorf-les-Bains).

Люксембургское казино в 2002 году начало активную программу по защите от игорной зависимости. Все сотрудники регулярно проходят обучение. Каждый год они обновляют тренинг, как распознавать проблемных игроков. Сейчас программа Casino 2000 считается лучшей в Европейском Союзе.

Оцените статью